Past Bedtime Story | One where I won a contest for the first time

Once upon a time there was a girl who wished for something. She wished for her dream to come true. Guess what? It did!

Fotor_147326067352127.jpg

I fell in love with photography when I was in 10th standard. I took lots of photos from point and shoot camera which was my sister’s. I told my parents that I would pursue photography. So, when I passed 10th standard they gifted me a DSLR camera. That was the best day of my life. I took many more photos from that camera. When I got into high school, one of my teachers gave me an opportunity to get into a photography contest. It was a first to me. I’ve never participated in any photography contest before and I was so scared. But I said yes anyway. The theme of the contest was ‘Nature’. I thought of going outside to click some photos from my DSLR because I didn’t have many nature photos. But then our examination came in between and I wasn’t able to go anywhere. I was so sad and thought of quitting but then I remembered that I had some photos which I took of nature when I just started taking photos from the point and shoot camera. I just took the photos for fun and I didn’t even knew if it was good enough but it was all I got. So, I sent the 5 photos through email.

Weeks went by and I forgot about the contest. But one day when I was checking my email and I saw the email, “Thanks for sending the photos and here are some of your photos that have been selected for the exhibition.” When I saw the email I was so happy. They selected 3 of my photos.

Fotor_14731796160326.jpg

My Mom was also very happy when I told her about the news. But I was still a little sad because I didn’t thought I wouldn’t win the contest because I gave the old photos. That night I wished that I didn’t care if I didn’t came first or second but even if I came third it would mean a lot to me. Few days later, the email came, which had the list of the winners. I opened it and scrolled; 1st winner – not me, 2nd winner – again not me. I was about to give up but then I saw my name. I came 3rd. I literally started to scream and jump. I went to my Mom and told her. She was also very happy. Then I went upstairs to tell it to my father and he was also very happy and proud. But most of all I was very happy because I didn’t even thought I would win. I never won anything before. I know, you must be thinking that 3rd isn’t that much of a deal but for me it is a lot. I won a contest for the very first time.

So, I went to the exhibition. But what’s a great day without some mishaps? The hotel where we stayed was 1 hour away from the place where the exhibition was held. So, I was 1 hour late to the exhibition and I missed the beginning of the program but still when I arrived everyone was very impressed with my photos. Whenever I think about that day, I still get butterflies in my stomach. Then I finally decided that I would go to a photography college and become a professional photographer.

I hope you liked today’s post. I’ve never posted anything like this before. If you did liked it and would love to read more Past Bedtime Stories then let me know in the comments down below.

signtrnprnt.gif

2 thoughts on “Past Bedtime Story | One where I won a contest for the first time

  1. Lia says:

    That’s so cool! I never participated in a photography contest, but I love photography and I’ve been trying to get better. I really should take out my camera more often!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

