Review: Deceived by Heena Rathore P.

[I received the ARC from the publishers in exchange for an honest review]

So here’s the thing: I’m a big fan of thriller and mystery. Been a fan since I read Sherlock Holmes and watched the show Detective Conan (Case Closed) and it’s been years since then but still I’m hooked with it. So I was really excited when the Citrus Publishers contacted me about this book. It had been a while since I read any thriller so when I read this book I was surely not disappointed at all. This book is so good and when I got to know that this is a debut novel I was amazed. Plus I got a signed ARC and I’m so happy because I never had or got a signed copy before.

dcvd

I was really excited and giddy when I started reading this book but by the end of it, I was so scared that I had to sleep with the lights on. I mean the state I was in when I was reading this book was dreadful. I kept getting chills because I myself thought that someone was staring at me. And the worst, it was raining when I was reading this and the darkness and the sound of rain made the story way more frightening.

Do you remember the episode from the TV show F.R.I.E.N.D.S where Joey puts The Shining by Stephen King in the freezer because he was really scared and told Rachel that putting it in the freezer made him feel safer. Well I remember I laughed when I watched that but when I was reading this book I understood his feeling and that’s the only thing that I wanted to do, to put this book in the freezer or in a box and store it in the deep dark corner of the closet.

59b1a83c7b16638cc364559972c74a69

And I know you might be thinking that why am I getting so scared if I love thriller and mystery? Well that’s the thing, I love mystery, thriller and suspense and all things with detective and solving crimes but I’ve never read any psychological thriller and this book is it. It is dark and puts the reader in the deep dark minds of a serial killer and the victim. By now you know how amazing this book is because it definitely lived up to its genre. There’s many characters in this book and the story is told from 4 different people’s point of view; Allison, Steve, Beth and Michael. Reading from the POV of 4 different people also made the story interesting but as well as frightening. But since I’m a huge fan of detectives I figured out who the killer was before-hand but still there’s many things that’s left untold and I’m dying to know the answers. Also in it Allison has a German Shepherd which reminded me a lot of my dog which was also of the same breed. It’s a sure page-turner and by that I mean literally because when the story ended and even though I didn’t wanted to read anymore because I was that scared but I still want to know more. Honestly as I’m writing this post I’m getting goosebumps thinking about the story. If you’re a thriller/mystery fan then I definitely recommend this book.

32935069

How well do you know your loved ones? 

A girl struggling to cope with the murders of her mother and five-year-old brother.
A journalist chasing the ghost of a potential serial killer.
A thirteen-year-old girl who slaughtered her parents.
And a revenge-driven psychopath who is about to destroy everyone’s life.

After 9 years, a young writer is still coping with the brutal murders of her mother and five-year-old brother, as she moves into a house of horrors, to start a new life with her lover. Will friends and family be able to redeem Ally out of the impending doom in time? Will her infallible love become the key to the destruction of her already fragile world? Will madness prevail over love; true love over revenge?

Publisher: Citrus Publishers

Pub. Date: June 24, 2017

Genres: Mystery, Psychological Thriller

Pages: 350

Format: Paperback

My Ratings: ❤️❤️❤️❤️

1474139597398

hrpata

Other Links

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/book/show/32935069-deceived

Website: https://heenarathorep.com

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCGJRUGymFvQJ3m6TdvCzOhw

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/authorheenarathore/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/heenarathorep/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/rathoreheena

nsign

3 thoughts on “Review: Deceived by Heena Rathore P.

Leave a Reply

