Disney Characters and Books w/ Mandy (Book Princess Reviews)

It’s been a while since I’ve done a collab but then when I found out this amazing blog I had to collab with her. Mandy @ Book Princess Reviews has an amazing blog and she writes great blog posts. I just love her new blog series called The Princesses Reads and you can read the most recent where she talks about Snow White, here. And also check out her blog, here.

Copy of Copy of GOUNELLE

We also did a collab in Mandy’s blog where we talked about our favorite retelling, you can read it here. So we both love Disney like a lot and thought of doing something based on it. So I thought we’ll pick 5 characters each and list the books that makes us think about the said character. So here are the 10 characters that we picked:

Captain Hook from Peter Pan

Captain_Hook_pose

Joy from Inside Out

194306_1_iocs_Joy2_125_per16_125_R2n

Beast from Beauty and the Beast

beast_transparent

Queen of Hearts from Alice in Wonderland

98f9b64d03a15c7c7fe6951aaab8abf8

Maleficent from Sleeping Beauty

Maleficent_01

Merida from Brave

Merida_web_small

Flynn Rider from Rapunzel

Flynn_Rider_transparent

Olaf from Frozen

Olaf_transparent_pose

Nick Wilde from Zootopia

Nick_Wilde_Pose_Render

Prince Charming from Cinderella

Charming

Copy of Copy of If you liked...

Captain Hook

81LGPdLaOHL

Unhooked by Lisa Maxwell. This was the first Peter Pan retelling I read – and it was especially delightful after being sucked into the Once Upon a Time version of it and then finding this book. I never thought Captain Hook could be a love interest before that (I mean, that perm o.o), but Once Upon a Time ruined that hate for me, and then this book totally helped me love him even more.

Joy

8364977

My Unfair Godmother by Janette Rallison. This book just brings me so much joy, and I seriously turn into this glowing blue haired girl whenever I see this book mentioned or when I find it on my bookshelf. It’s so adorable, unique, and don’t even get me started on the ship. THE FEELS.

Beast

77493_original

A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. Is this cheating since it is a Beauty and the Beast retelling? Shhhhhh. But Tamlin really was beastly and not at all cuddly like my little furry Beast friend -_-

Queen of Hearts

22489107

Fairest by Marissa Meyer. Okay, Queen Levana was kind of like this queen – totally crazy, wants the new girl’s head, totally has little minions (although Levana’s are far more scarier and hairier), yet slightly entertaining.

Maleficent

30517879

The Dragon’s Price by Bethany Wiggins. While I didn’t like this book, I totally think of this book now with Maleficent because I mean, dragons. Lots of dragons.

Merida

29736231

Frogkisser by Garth Nix. A book where romance was TOTALLY not needed and a movie! Anya – the princess in this story – also totally was super fierce, on her own, and determined to fight for her own fate and kingdom. So much love!

Flynn Rider

71tet4Zx73L

Cress by Marissa Meyer. The main hero of this story? Thorne. Carswell Thorne. His my dreamboat man…and he literally so much like Rider. If you’re looking for the book equivalent of him, Thorne is your mannnnnnnnnnnnn. So much swooning. Forever swooning. And smolders.

Olaf

14744489

The Summer I Became a Nerd by Leah Rae Miller. Okay, I totally was going to use this for Prince Charming, but I totally had to use it for this one more. Dan from this story was totally the perfect Olaf. He popped up at the most brilliant times with the most hilarious comments. Even though I loved the main characters to pieces, Dan was just this wonderful sidekick that I loved so dearly.

Nick Wilde

23437156

Six of Crows by Leigh Bardugo! Okay, I will admit that I haven’t quite watched all of Zootopia yet – yes, I have failed. But I got that Nick Wilde is a sly little fox…just like my little baby Kaz. Now, I must go off and watch this movie better. D:

Prince Charming

Untitled collage

Ooooooh, this one was hard! There are a lot of Prince Charmings out there! I kept thinking of Kai from Cinder by Marissa Meyer, but I used all my obvious choices for Beast. And I was going to use Logan from The Summer I Became a Nerd. Or maybe Darian from Geekerella. Any of them will do. ๐Ÿ˜‰

Copy of Copy of If you liked... (1)

Captain Hook

20983362

Passenger by Alexandra Bracken. Honestly I havenโ€™t seen Peter Pan yet but Iโ€™ve read the story and seen Once Upon A Time and really love Captain Hook from the TV Show. And since Hook is a pirate and this book also have ship and pirate.

Joy

51puhnxv67l-_sx326_bo1204203200_

Anna and the French Kiss by Stephanie Perkins. This is my ultimate pleasure read. It just gives me a warm and joy feeling. This book is so cute and sweet and I always read it to cheer myself up. And I canโ€™t wait to re-read it again.

Beast

51-IhE7lLkL._SX328_BO1,204,203,200_

As Old as Time by Liz Braswell. Donโ€™t worry Mandy; I also cheated on this one because this book is also clearly a retelling of Beauty and the Beast. But this book is also as good as the movie.

Queen of Hearts

32826931

Heartless by Marissa Meyer. I had to! This book is about the Queen of Hearts. And this book honestly made me change my mind about her. This book is one of my all-time favorite booksย and I just canโ€™t get this book out of my mind. Plus, throughout this book, it made me crave for cupcakes and tarts.

Maleficent

Descendants-isle-of-lost-cover-reveal_(2)

The Isle of the Lost by Melissa De La Cruz. I picked this book because this book is about Mal, Maleficentโ€™s daughter. And also this book has lots of other evil queens too. So this book is perfect if you love evil queens.

Merida

wp-1464361338331.jpg

Amy & Rogerโ€™s Epic Detour by Morgan Matson. I know this book is different than the movie but whenever I think about Merida, this book always comes in my mind. Because Amy also has red hair similar to Merida and Amy also wasnโ€™t much close to her mother at the beginning of the book but then they come closer towards the end just like the movie, Brave.

Flynn Rider

9781509840762what-light

What Light by Jay Asher. While I was reading this book I kept picturing Caleb as Flynn. They both had harsh past and they both have big dreams and also wants to be a better person for their loved ones.

Olaf

0-6fgwljqtat0fmywi

Autofocus by Lauren Gibaldi. Bennett is a really warm and kind hearted guy. He loves to help others and is really cute and funny just like Olaf. I was honestly melting the whole time while I was reading this book.

Nick Wilde

21525988

The Museum of Heartbreak by Meg Leder. I really loved the friendship between Penelope and Eph and really loved how they teased each other just like Judy and Nick.

Prince Charming

images-13.jpg

 

Wait for You by Jennifer L. Armentrout. Cameron is one of my fictional boyfriends and if I picture Prince Charming, it has to be him. He is honestly such a hottie and also really charming.

What do you guys think? Which book does come on your mind when you see these characters? Let’s discuss in the comments down below. And don’t forget to check out Mandy’s blog.

nsign

18 thoughts on “Disney Characters and Books w/ Mandy (Book Princess Reviews)

  1. Book Princess Review (@_bookprincess_) says:

    Omigosh, love love love love, Renuka! You made it so ridiculously pretty, and I loveddddddddddd reading your picks. Thank gosh for the Beast one – it was just too easy! XD And you did quite well with Passenger for not seeing Peter Pan yet! Totally nailed the pirates and ships and fun. ๐Ÿ˜€ And Anna and the French Kiss is suchhhhhhhh a feel good book. And also, now I can’t wait to read Autofocus, because if it has an Olaf character, I want soooooo badly. Oh, this was sooooooooo much fun, Renuka!! Now, I shall have to figure out more ways to promote it. ๐Ÿ˜‰ Such a pleasure working with you on this, and it turned out so wonderfully. โค

    Liked by 2 people

    • Renuka says:

      I’m sooo glad you loved it ๐Ÿ˜Š and now I will go and watch Peter Pan and you too should read Autofocus because it is a really great read. I really did loved doing this collab with you. ๐Ÿ’–

      Like

  2. Jackie @ toomuchofabooknerd says:

    This is such a great post ๐Ÿ˜ I loved reading all of your answers!

    I still haven’t read Anna and the French Kiss but my sister keeps telling me how much she loved it and how great it was so I’ll definitely have to read it this summer!

    And I agree with Darien from Geekerella ๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜๐Ÿ˜ Such an adorable and geeky Prince Charming!

    Fantastic collab you two!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Danielle says:

    I’ve never heard of The Summer I Became A Nerd, but I just looked it up and it sounds so cute! Definitely up my alley! And I feel the exact same way about Anna & the French Kiss. Every time I even think about that book it makes my heart happy.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Sophie @ Blame Chocolate says:

    You guys got really creative here! (Well, for the most part ๐Ÿ˜› ) I really enjoyed your post and your choices! I don’t know what I would pick myself… It’s just so hard T_T
    But I do know I can’t wait to read some of these books! Thanks for piquing my interest all over again XD
    Hoping to see more from you two! ^^

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

